COLLEGE OF MICRONESIA-FSM

BOARD POLICY No.1000

Brief History of the College

Date Adopted: 20-23 March 2006

Date Revised:

Date Reviewed:

References:

The history of the College of Micronesia-FSM (COM-FSM) reflects the growth of the Federated States of Micronesia as a nation. The college originated in 1963 when the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (ITPI) contracted the University of Hawaii to administer the Micronesian Teacher Education Center, an in-service training facility for selected TTPI teachers.

In 1969, emphasis shifted from in-service to pre-service; students were recruited from the high schools and college credits were awarded through Kapiolani Community College in Hawaii. However, when the TTPI High Commissioner in 1970 signed Administrative Directive No. 70-2 changing the name of the center to Community College of Micronesia (CCM), the college began offering a college curriculum in its own name. Beginning in 1971, the TTPI Department of Education began assuming more responsibility for the college; the university involvement was phased out in 1973. CCM remained essentially a teacher college until 1974 when the first non-education-related associate degree program was added to the curriculum.

Another administrative change occurred in 1978 when an act of the Seventh Congress of Micronesia joined CCM with the then Micronesian Occupational Center in Palau and the College's nursing school in Saipan to form the College of Micronesia (COM) as a public corporation governed by a Board of Regents. The nursing school later was moved to Majuro and became the College of the Marshall Islands. In 1987, the newly independent nations of the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of Palau, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands signed a treaty affirming a desire to continue supporting COM.

However, in 1991, the three nations signed an agreement to restructure COM to allow more local autonomy. As a result, in 1992, the Seventh Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia passed Public Law No. 7-79 establishing the College of Micronesia-FSM as a public corporation under its own Board of Regents. Thus, on April 1, 1993, the College of Micronesia-FSM became the national college of the federation.

The college is comprised of a national campus located in Palikir on Pohnpei, and a state campus in each state. In 1999, through a memorandum of understanding with the national government, COMFSM accepted management of the FSM Fisheries and Maritime Institute in Yap. The college is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, an institutional accrediting body recognized by the Commission on Recognition of Postsecondary Accreditation and the U.S. Department of Education. Accreditation was awarded in 1978 and reaffirmed in 1982, 1987, 1992, 1998, 2005, and 2010.